General IPDPS Info



IPDPS 2018 Call For Papers

IPDPS 2018 Call For Papers
32nd IEEE International Parallel & Distributed Processing Symposium
May 21 – May 25, 2018  
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada


  • Authors must register their paper and submit an abstract by October 17, 2017.  
  • Authors must then submit full versions of registered papers by October 22, 2017.
  • All deadlines are end of day ANYWHERE ON EARTH.
  • Before submitting, review the information under WHAT/WHERE TO SUBMIT below.
  • The submission portal will open by September; return here to submit your paper.

Authors are invited to submit manuscripts that present original unpublished research in all areas of parallel and distributed processing, including the development of experimental or commercial systems. Work focusing on emerging technologies and interdisciplinary work covering multiple IPDPS areas are especially welcome. Topics of interest include but are not limited to the following re-defined topic areas:

  • Parallel and distributed computing theory and algorithms (Algorithms): Design and analysis of novel numerical and combinatorial parallel algorithms; protocols for resource management; communication and synchronization on parallel and distributed systems; parallel algorithms handling power, mobility, and resilience.
  • Experiments and practice in parallel and distributed computing (Experiments): Design and experimental evaluation of applications of parallel and distributed computing in simulation and analysis; experiments in the use of novel commercial or research architectures, accelerators, neuromorphic architectures, and other non-traditional systems; algorithms for cloud computing; domain-specific parallel and distributed algorithms; performance modeling and analysis of parallel and distributed algorithms.
  • Programming models, compilers and runtimes for parallel applications and systems (Programming Models): Parallel programming paradigms, models and languages; compilers, runtime systems, programming environments and tools for the support of parallel programming; parallel software development and productivity.
  • System software and middleware for parallel and distributed systems (System Software): System software support for scientific workflows; storage and I/O systems; System software for resource management, job scheduling, and energy-efficiency; frameworks targeting cloud and distributed systems; system software support for accelerators and heterogeneous HPC computing systems; interactions between the OS, runtime, compiler, middleware, and tools; system software support for fault tolerance and resilience; containers and virtual machines; system software supporting scalable data analytics, machine learning, and deep learning; OS and runtime system specialized for high performance computing and exascale systems; system software for future novel computing platforms including quantum, neuromorphic, and bio-inspired computing.
  • Architecture: Architectures for instruction-level and thread-level parallelism; memory technologies and hierarchies; exascale system designs; data center architectures; novel big data architectures; special-purpose architectures and accelerators; network and interconnect architectures; parallel I/O and storage systems; power-efficient and green computing systems; resilience and dependable architectures; performance modeling and evaluation.
  • Multidisciplinary: Papers that cross the boundaries of the previous tracks are encouraged and can be submitted to the multidisciplinary track. During submission of multidisciplinary papers, authors should indicate their subject areas that can come from any area. Contributions should either target two or more core areas of parallel and distributed computing where the whole is larger than sum of its components, or advance the use of parallel and distributed computing in other areas of science and engineering.  

The program committee will nominate a few papers for recognition. Upon presentation at a special session, the best papers will be selected by a committee.

A few papers from each area will be selected by the conference chair and co-chairs and invited for submission to a special issue of JPDC dedicated to IPDPS. The final paper should have at least 30% extra material and will be reviewed as any JPDC submission, but fast-tracked to appear a few months after the conference.

Abstracts must be submitted by October 17th; submitted abstracts may not exceed 500 words. Manuscripts must be submitted by October 22nd; submitted manuscripts may not exceed ten (10) single-spaced double-column pages using 10-point size font on 8.5x11 inch pages (IEEE conference style), including figures, tables, and references. The submitted manuscripts should include author names and affiliations. See style templates for details:

The submission portal will be available by September. Return to this site to submit your abstract and upload your submissions.

All submitted manuscripts will be reviewed. Submissions will be judged on correctness, originality, technical strength, significance, potential impact, quality of presentation, and interest and relevance to the conference scope. Submitted papers should NOT have appeared in or be under consideration for another conference, workshop or journal.

Questions may be sent to Abstracts are due October 17, 2017, and full manuscripts must be received by October 22, 2017. This is a final, hard deadline. To ensure fairness, no extensions will be given.

Preliminary decisions will be sent by December 8, 2017, with a decision of either accept, revise, or reject. Authors of “revised” papers will have the opportunity to revise the content according to reviewers’ comments and will submit their final paper (together with a cover letter explaining the changes) by January 8, 2018.  Notification of final decisions will be mailed by January 22, 2018, and camera-ready papers will be due February 15, 2018.


•Abstracts due

October 17, 2017

•Submissions due (hard deadline)

October 22, 2017

• Author notification  (first round)

December 8, 2017

•Revisions due

January 8, 2018

•Author notification (final)

January 22, 2018

•Camera-ready due

February 15, 2018


  • Anne Benoit (ENS Lyon, France) and
  • Ümit V. Çatalyürek (Georgia Institute of Technology, USA)


    Fredrik Manne (University of Bergen, Norway) and
    Ananth Kalyanaraman (Washington State University, USA)
    Karen Devine (Sandia National Lab, USA) and
    Ilkay Altintas (UC San Diego, USA)
    Albert Cohen (Inria, France) and
    Cosmin Oancea (University of Copenhagen, Denmark)
    Franck Cappello (Argonne National Lab, USA) and
    Devesh Tiwari (Northeastern University, USA)
    Mahmut Kandemir (Penn State University, USA) and
    Gokhan Memik (Northwestern University, USA)
    Daniel S. Katz (University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, USA) and
    Wei Tan (IBM T. J. Watson Research Center, USA)

(To be announced shortly)

Search IPDPS


Follow IPDPS


Tweets by @IPDPS

IPDPS 2017 Report

31st IEEE International Parallel &
Distributed Processing Symposium 
May 29 – June 2, 2017
Buena Vista Palace Hotel
Orlando, Florida USA