IEEE International Parallel & Distributed Processing Symposium

Technical Committee on
Parallel Processing

2008 IPDPS TCPP PhD Forum

Selected Poster Presentations Announced
There was an overwhelming response to the inaugural TCPP PhD Forum at IPDPS 2008.  From 74 submissions, 36 have been selected for poster presentations during two sessions on Thursday, April 17th.  TCPP awards committee is now deciding on the student travel awards.  It will also announce the best poster award right after the two sessions.

Information for PhD Forum Poster Presenters

The poster is a foam board, 32 x 40 inches in size, which will accommodate 12 to 13 slides (each slide being 8.5 x 11 inches).

TCPP PhD Forum Poster Presentations
Thursday, Arpil 17, 2008

Presenters listed below.
See poster details in downloadable pdf.

Morning Session

Afternoon Session

Marco Biazzini Enis Afgan
Wittaya Chantamas Nawab Ali
Eunjung Cho David Allenotor
Yi Gu Muthu Manikandan Baskaran
Nanyan Jiang Abhinav Bhatele
Gaurav Khanna René Brunner
Christos Kotselidis Louis-Claude Canon
Mo Li Rosa Filgueira
Heshan Lin Jaeyeon Kang
Qingda Lu Jik-Soo Kim
Kamesh Madduri Stephan Kubisch
Animesh Pathak Rajkiran Panuganti
Madhura Purnaprajna Barry Rountree
Krishnendu Roy Amitabh Trehan
Purvi Shah Karthikeyan Vaidyanathan
Francesco Silvestri Xue Wang
Shannon Steinfadt Lamia Youseff
Chen Yu  
6:00-7:00 PM
Closing session for all presenters

To record your preference
, send an email to and copy by April 1st.  In the subject line, type in one of the three options:

- Session M ...if the morning session is the only option
- Session A ...if the afternoon session is the only option
- Session E ...if either session will be fine.

A detailed poster session schedule will be posted by April 7th, 2008.

In 2008, the IEEE Computer Society's Technical Committee on Parallel Processing (TCPP) launches a new event as part of its flagship conference, IPDPS. The PhD Forum will be an opportunity for graduate students to present a poster describing their proposed and/or partially completed dissertation work to a broad audience of both academic and industrial researchers and practitioners in parallel and distributed processing and related overlapping areas, such as networking, autonomic computing, reconfigurable computing, and high-performance computing architecture and compilers. The top submissions will receive travel awards sponsored by TCPP.

The objective of the PhD Forum is to help students receive expert feedback on their research thrusts, establish contacts for entering the job market and at the same time give representatives from industry and academia a preview of the upcoming developments in parallel and distributed processing and related technologies.

Chair: Sandeep Gupta, Arizona State University, USA
Vipin Chaudhary, SUNY Buffalo, USA
Loren Schwiebert, Wayne State University, USA
R. (Vaidy) Vaidyanathan, Louisiana State University, USA
Georgios Varsamopoulos, Arizona State University, USA

Registration Details


See abstracts for
Advance Program


See schedule and posters to be presented


See Advance Program

See details

See Keynote and Panel Updates

March 24, 2008
Deadline for Advance